Nathan MacKinnon voted 2023-24 Ted Lindsay Award recipient by NHLPA members

MacKinnon earns his first TLA, as voted by the players; Kucherov, Matthews finish as finalists.

Nathan MacKinnon voted 2023-24 Ted Lindsay Award recipient by NHLPA members

TORONTO/LAS VEGAS (June 27, 2024) The National Hockey League Players’ Association announced today forward Nathan MacKinnon of the Colorado Avalanche has received the players’ vote as the 2023-24 Ted Lindsay Award recipient. The TLA is presented annually to “the most outstanding player in the NHL,” as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA.

MacKinnon has earned the first Ted Lindsay Award of his career, after twice previously finishing as a finalist (2017-18, 2019-20). The forward from Cole Harbour, Nova Scotia, Canada, set career highs in goals (51), assists (89) and points (140 points) the latter of which established a new single-season franchise record for the Avalanche. MacKinnon opened the season with a 35-game home point streak the second longest such streak (Wayne Gretzky, 40-game home point streak in 1988-89) in NHL history. He led all scorers in even-strength points (92), ranked first in shots on goal (405), placed second in both power-play points (48) and even-strength goals (41), finished third in both assists (89) and primary assists (50) and ranked fourth in goals. In his 11th NHL season, MacKinnon led all forwards in total time on ice (1,870:46). With the 2023-24 TLA, MacKinnon becomes the second Avalanche recipient (Joe Sakic, 2000-01) in the award’s history.

The 2023-24 Ted Lindsay Award was the first award presented during the 2024 NHL Awards™ at Fontainebleau Las Vegas. This season’s finalists for the players’ award, forwards Nikita Kucherov of the Tampa Bay Lightning and Auston Matthews of the Toronto Maple Leafs, were both vying for their second TLA. The NHLPA membership voted on the most outstanding player at the end of the regular season, and the top three vote-getters were subsequently announced as finalists for the 2023-24 TLA. This season marks the 53rd season of the award.

About the Ted Lindsay Award:
The Ted Lindsay Award is unique as the only NHL award voted on by the players themselves, carrying on the tradition established in 1970-71 with the Lester B. Pearson Award. NHLPA members annually vote on the player they deem to be the most outstanding in the NHL regular season. The award was reintroduced in 2009-10 as the namesake of the late Ted Lindsay to honour his legacy as a Hockey Hall of Fame forward known for skill, tenacity and leadership, along with his role in establishing the original Players’ Association. For more information on the TLA, visit Join the conversation by using #TedLindsayAward.­­­­­­