NHLPA Announces Finalists for '11/12 Ted Lindsay Award

Lundqvist, Malkin, & Stamkos voted by fellow members of the NHLPA as finalists for the ?Most Outstanding Player? Ted Lindsay Award.

NHLPA Announces Finalists for '11/12 Ted Lindsay Award


TORONTO (May 2, 2012) – The National Hockey League Players’ Association (NHLPA) announced today that Henrik Lundqvist of the New York Rangers, Evgeni Malkin of the Pittsburgh Penguins and Steven Stamkos of the Tampa Bay Lightning have been selected as finalists for the 2011-12 Ted Lindsay Award. The Ted Lindsay Award is presented annually to the “Most Outstanding Player” in the NHL, as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA.

The Ted Lindsay Award is the only award voted on by the players themselves, carrying on the tradition established by the Lester B. Pearson Award since 1970-71. The Award honours Ted Lindsay, an All-Star forward known for his skill, tenacity, leadership, and for his role in establishing the original Players' Association.

This year’s group of finalists – Lundqvist, Malkin and Stamkos – ensures that there will be a first-time recipient named when the Ted Lindsay Award is presented at the 2012 NHL Awards in Las Vegas on June 20th.

The following players are finalists for the 2012 Ted Lindsay Award (in alphabetical order):

Henrik Lundqvist, of Are, Sweden, appeared in 62 games during the 2011-12 season, leading the New York Rangers to their best regular season record since 1993-94. He set career-best marks in save percentage (.930) and goals-against average (1.97), ranking fourth in both categories. Henrik also set a career-high in wins (39), finishing third in the category, and tied for third among goaltenders in shutouts (8). He is the only goaltender in NHL history to record at least 30 wins in each of his first seven seasons. This is Henrik’s first nomination as a finalist for the Ted Lindsay Award. The four-time Vezina Trophy nominee would become just the third goaltender to receive the “Most Outstanding Player” award as voted on by the players, joining Mike Liut (1980-81) and Dominik Hasek (1996-97, 1997-98), and he is the first goaltender to be nominated since Roberto Luongo was a finalist (2006-07).

Evgeni Malkin, of Magnitogorsk, Russia appeared in 75 games for the Pittsburgh Penguins in the 2011-12 season. Evgeni led all NHL players in regular season scoring (109 points) to earn his second Art Ross Trophy (2008-09). He finished with more than 100 points in a season for the third time in his career, while finishing third in assists (59) and second in goals (a career-high 50). He also led the league in shots (339) and tied for fourth in game-winning goals (9). This is Evgeni’s third nomination by his peers as a finalist for the “Most Outstanding Player” award (2007-08, 2008-09). The former Calder Trophy recipient (2006-07) would become the fourth Penguins player to receive the “Most Outstanding Player” award as voted on by the players, following Mario Lemieux (1985-86, 1987-88, 1992-93, 1995-96), Jaromir Jagr (1998-99, 1999-00, 2005-06) and Sidney Crosby (2006-07).

Steven Stamkos, of Markham, Ontario, appeared in all 82 games in the 2011-12 season with the Tampa Bay Lightning, for the third consecutive season. For the second time in his young career, Steven led the league in goals (60) to earn the Maurice Richard Trophy, becoming only the 19th player in NHL history to record 60 goals in a season. He also finished second in points (97), tied for first with Radim Vrbata for most game-winning goals (12), and scored the most overtime-winning goals (5) – an NHL record. This is Steven’s second consecutive nomination by his peers as a finalist for the Ted Lindsay Award (2010-11). He would become only the second member of the Lightning to receive the “Most Outstanding Player” award as voted on by the players, joining teammate Martin St. Louis (2003-04).

The NHLPA also launched the 2011-12 Ted Lindsay Award Contest today on www.nhlpa.com. Fans are encouraged to select the Ted Lindsay Award recipient, just like the players do. A random draw will take place following the 2012 NHL Awards in Las Vegas NV, to determine the Grand Prize winner, as well as the second and third-place finishers.   

Fans and media are encouraged to visit www.nhlpa.com for further information on the Ted Lindsay Award, finalist profiles and contest information.      

“Most Outstanding Player” Award Recipients:

Lester B. Pearson Award

1983-84 Wayne Gretzky

1997-98 Dominik Hasek

1970-71 Phil Esposito

1984-85 Wayne Gretzky

1998-99 Jaromir Jagr

1971-72 Jean Ratelle

1985-86 Mario Lemieux

1999-00 Jaromir Jagr

1972-73 Bobby Clarke

1986-87 Wayne Gretzky

2000-01 Joe Sakic

1973-74 Phil Esposito

1987-88 Mario Lemieux

2001-02 Jarome Iginla

1974-75 Bobby Orr

1988-89 Steve Yzerman

2002-03 Markus Naslund

1975-76 Guy Lafleur

1989-90 Mark Messier

2003-04 Martin St. Louis

1976-77 Guy Lafleur

1990-91 Brett Hull

2005-06 Jaromir Jagr

1977-78 Guy Lafleur

1991-92 Mark Messier

2006-07 Sidney Crosby

1978-79 Marcel Dionne

1992-93 Mario Lemieux

2007-08 Alexander Ovechkin

1979-80 Marcel Dionne

1993-94 Sergei Fedorov

2008-09 Alexander Ovechkin

1980-81 Mike Liut

1994-95 Eric Lindros

Ted Lindsay Award

1981-82 Wayne Gretzky

1995-96 Mario Lemieux

2009-10 Alexander Ovechkin

1982-83 Wayne Gretzky

1996-97 Dominik Hasek

2010-11 Daniel Sedin