Sidney Crosby receives “Most Outstanding Player” award for third time.


LAS VEGAS (June 24, 2014) – The National Hockey League Players’ Association (NHLPA) announced today that Sidney Crosby is the 2013-14 recipient of the Ted Lindsay Award, presented annually to the “Most Outstanding Player” in the NHL as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA.

Ryan Getzlaf of the Anaheim Ducks and Claude Giroux of the Philadelphia Flyers were nominated by the members of the NHLPA as finalists for the 2013-14 Ted Lindsay Award.

Crosby has now received the Ted Lindsay Award in back-to-back seasons and has been voted by his peers as the “Most Outstanding Player” three times (2006-07, 2012-13, 2013-14) in his career. He was also a finalist in 2009-10.

This marks the third consecutive season that a Penguins player has received the Ted Lindsay Award (Evgeni Malkin – 2011-12). In franchise history, Crosby is the second Penguins player to receive the Award three times while with the team (Mario Lemieux – 1985-86, 1987-88, 1992-93, 1995-96).

Crosby becomes only the sixth three-time recipient in the history of the players’ Award, joining Guy Lafleur, Wayne Gretzky, Lemieux, Jaromir Jagr and Alexander Ovechkin.

As part of the 2014 NHL Awards from Encore Theater at Wynn Las Vegas, Ted Lindsay presented his namesake Award. Getzlaf and Giroux were also in attendance.

The Ted Lindsay Award is the only award voted on by the players themselves, carrying on the tradition established by the Lester B. Pearson Award since 1970-71. The Award honours Ted Lindsay, an All-Star forward known for his skill, tenacity, leadership, and for his role in establishing the original Players' Association.

During the 2013-14 regular season, Crosby helped lead the Penguins to the second-best record in the Eastern Conference. He won his second Art Ross Trophy for leading the league in points (104), while he finished first in assists (68), third in faceoffs won (991), first in points per game (1.30), first in even strength points (66) and led all forwards in average ice time (21:58).

In recognition of being named the 2013-14 Ted Lindsay Award recipient, Crosby will receive an elegant men’s watch from Breitling.

2013-14 Ted Lindsay Award Recipient:


Height: 5’11” Weight: 205 lbs. Shoots: Left 

Age: 26 Hometown: Cole Harbour, NS, Canada 

Draft: Selected 1st Round, 1st Overall by the Pittsburgh Penguins in 2005 Entry Draft Career 


  • Ted Lindsay Award (2012-13, 2013-14) 
  • Lester B. Pearson Award (2006-07) 
  • Art Ross Trophy (2006-07, 2013-14) 
  • Hart Memorial Trophy (2006-07) 
  • Stanley Cup (2009 – Pittsburgh Penguins) 
  • Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy (2009-10 – tied with Steven Stamkos)
  • Olympic gold medal (2010, 2014 – Canada)

  • “Most Outstanding Player” Award Recipients:

    Lester B. Pearson Award   1984-85 Wayne Gretzky   1990-00 Jaromir Jagr 
     1970-71 Phil Esposito  1985-86 Mario Lemieux  2000-01 Joe Sakic
     1971-72 Jean Ratelle  1986-87 Wayne Gretzky  2001-02 Jarome Iginla
     1972-73 Bobby Clark  1987-88 Mario Lemieux  2002-03 Markus Naslund 
     1973-74 Phil Esposito  1988-89 Steve Yzerman  2003-04 Martin St. Louis
     1974-75 Bobby Orr  1989-90 Mark Messier  2005-06 Jaromir Jagr 
     1975-76 Guy Lafleur  1990-91 Brett Hull   2006-07 Sidney Crosby
     1976-77 Guy Lafleur  1991-92 Mark Messier  2007-08 Alexander Ovechkin
     1977-78 Guy Lafleur  1992-93 Mario Lemieux   2008-09 Alexander Ovechkin
     1978-79 Marcel Dionne  1993-94 Sergei Federov  Ted Lindsay Award 
     1979-80 Marcel Dionne  1994-95 Eric Lindros  2009-10 Alexander Ovechkin
     1980-81 Mike Liut  1995-96 Mario Lemieux  2010-11 Daniel Sedin
     1981-82 Wayne Gretzky  1996-97 Dominik Hasek  2011-12 Evgeni Malkin 
     1982-83 Wayne Gretzky  1997-98 Dominik Hasek  2012-13 Sidney Crosby
     1983-84 Wayne Gretzky  1998-99 Jaromir Jagr  2013-14 Sidney Crosby