Price named “Most Outstanding Player” for first time…First goaltender in 17 years; second Canadiens player ever to receive Award

Price named “Most Outstanding Player” for first time…First goaltender in 17 years; second Canadiens player ever to receive Award

LAS VEGAS (June 24, 2015) – The National Hockey League Players’ Association (NHLPA) announced today that Carey Price is the 2014-15 recipient of the Ted Lindsay Award, presented annually to the “Most Outstanding Player” in the NHL as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA.

Jamie Benn of the Dallas Stars and Alexander Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals were nominated by the members of the NHLPA as finalists for the 2014-15 Ted Lindsay Award.

Following an outstanding eighth season in the NHL, this is the first Ted Lindsay Award for Price. This marks the fourth time in the history of the Award that a goaltender has been named as the “Most Outstanding Player”, following Mike Liut (1980-81) and Dominik Hasek (1996-97, 1997-98), and the first time in 17 years.

In being named as the 2014-15 recipient of the Ted Lindsay Award, Price becomes only the second Montreal Canadiens player to be recognized by the members of the NHLPA with their highest honour, following three-time “Most Outstanding Player” recipient Guy Lafleur (1976-77, 1977-78, 1978-79).

As part of the 2015 NHL Awards from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, Hockey Hall of Fame member Ted Lindsay was on hand to present his namesake Award to Price. Benn and Ovechkin were also in attendance.

During the 2014-15 regular season, Price played 66 games and helped lead the Canadiens to the second-best record in the NHL. Price led the league in wins (44 – a new franchise-best), goals-against average (1.96) and save percentage (.933), which also earned him finalist nominations for the Hart Memorial Trophy and the Vezina Trophy.

The Ted Lindsay Award is the only award voted on by the players themselves, carrying on the tradition established by the Lester B. Pearson Award since 1970-71. The Award honours Ted Lindsay, an All-Star forward known for his skill, tenacity, leadership, and for his role in establishing the original Players' Association.

In recognition of being named the 2014-15 Ted Lindsay Award recipient, Price will also receive an elegant men’s watch from Breitling.

2014-15 Ted Lindsay Award Recipient:


  • Height: 6’3” Weight: 216 lbs.
  • Position: Goaltender
  • Age: 26 Hometown: Anahim Lake, British Columbia
  • Draft: Selected 1st Round, 5th Overall by the Montreal Canadiens in the 2005 Entry Draft
  • Career Achievements:
  • Ted Lindsay Award (2014-15)
  • Olympic gold medal (2014 – Canada)
  • William M. Jennings Trophy (2014-15 – co-won, along with Corey Crawford)

“Most Outstanding Player” Award Recipients:

Lester B. Pearson Award 1984-85 Wayne Gretzky 1999-00 Jaromir Jagr
1970-71 Phil Esposito 1985-86 Mario Lemieux 2000-01 Joe Sakic
1971-72 Jean Ratelle 1986-87 Wayne Gretzky 2001-02 Jarome Iginla
1972-73 Bobby Clarke 1987-88 Mario Lemieux 2002-03 Markus Naslund
1973-74 Phil Esposito 1988-89 Steve Yzerman 2003-04 Martin St. Louis
1974-75 Bobby Orr 1989-90 Mark Messier 2005-06 Jaromir Jagr
1975-76 Guy Lafleur 1990-91 Brett Hull 2006-07 Sidney Crosby
1976-77 Guy Lafleur 1991-92 Mark Messier 2007-08 Alexander Ovechkin
1977-78 Guy Lafleur 1992-93 Mario Lemieux 2008-09 Alexander Ovechkin
1978-79 Marcel Dionne 1993-94 Sergei Fedorov Ted Lindsay Award
1979-80 Marcel Dionne 1994-95 Eric Lindros 2009-10 Alexander Ovechkin
1980-81 Mike Liut 1995-96 Mario Lemieux 2010-11 Daniel Sedin
1981-82 Wayne Gretzky 1996-97 Dominik Hasek 2011-12 Evgeni Malkin
1982-83 Wayne Gretzky 1997-98 Dominik Hasek 2012-13 Sidney Crosby
1983-84 Wayne Gretzky 1998-99 Jaromir Jagr 2013-14 Sidney Crosby
2014-15 Carey Price