Ted Lindsay Award

The Ted Lindsay Award is the ultimate individual honour for a player to receive, as he is chosen by his peers via secret ballot, as the top player in the game for the season.

After competing fiercely against each other for 82 games a year, NHLPA members vote for the player who best embodies the skill, determination and competitive spirit of Ted Lindsay. To have the players you line-up against each and every night nominate you as the “Most Outstanding Player” represents the highest level of respect and the ultimate peer review.


The National Hockey League Players’ Association (NHLPA) announced today that Carey Price is the 2014-15 recipient of the Ted Lindsay Award, presented annually to the “Most Outstanding Player” in the NHL as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA. Jamie Benn of the Dallas Stars and Alexander Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals were nominated by the members of the NHLPA as finalists for the 2014-15 Ted Lindsay Award.

Following an outstanding eighth season in the NHL, this is the first Ted Lindsay Award for Price. This marks the fourth time in the history of the Award that a goaltender has been named as the “Most Outstanding Player”, following Mike Liut (1980-81) and Dominik Hasek (1996-97, 1997-98), and the first time in 17 years.

In being named as the 2014-15 recipient of the Ted Lindsay Award, Price becomes only the second Montreal Canadiens player to be recognized by the members of the NHLPA with their highest honour, following three-time “Most Outstanding Player” recipient Guy Lafleur (1976-77, 1977-78, 1978-79).

As part of the 2015 NHL Awards from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, Hockey Hall of Fame member Ted Lindsay was on hand to present his namesake Award to Price. Benn and Ovechkin were also in attendance.

During the 2014-15 regular season, Price played 66 games and helped lead the Canadiens to the second-best record in the NHL. Price led the league in wins (44 – a new franchise-best), goals-against average (1.96) and save percentage (.933), which also earned him finalist nominations for the Hart Memorial Trophy and the Vezina Trophy.

The Ted Lindsay Award is the only award voted on by the players themselves, carrying on the tradition established by the Lester B. Pearson Award since 1970-71. The Award honours Ted Lindsay, an All-Star forward known for his skill, tenacity, leadership, and for his role in establishing the original Players' Association.

In recognition of being named the 2014-15 Ted Lindsay Award recipient, Price will also receive an elegant men’s watch from Breitling. 2014-15 Ted Lindsay Award Recipient:


  • Height: 6’3” Weight: 216 lbs.
  • Position: Goaltender
  • Age: 26 Hometown: Anahim Lake, British Columbia
  • Draft: Selected 1st Round, 5th Overall by the Montreal Canadiens in the 2005 Entry Draft

    Career Achievements:

  • Ted Lindsay Award (2014-15)
  • Olympic gold medal (2014 – Canada)
  • William M. Jennings Trophy (2014-15 – co-won, along with Corey Crawford)
  • Recent News and Videos

    // See All
    • June 22, 2015
    TLA Profile: Alex Ovechkin

    TLA Profile: Alex Ovechkin

    Will Alex Ovechkin go forth and win his fourth Ted Lindsay Award? His teammates are certainly in his corner.

    // Read More
    • June 19, 2015
    TLA Profile: Carey Price

    TLA Profile: Carey Price

    An elite level talent between the pipes, it's not hard to see why the Habs' net-minder is so widely respected by his NHL peers

    // Read More
    See All

    Player Tweets

    // See All